National Standards and Accreditation

What is it?
Accreditation is a system to promote and support safe patient care and continuous quality improvement of health services through a process of regular assessment and review. Assessment against the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHSS) determines whether health services providing acute, sub-acute and primary care have systems in place to achieve appropriate standards of safety and quality. It also assists health services who have achieved accreditation standards to identify aspirational or developmental goals. Residential Aged Care assessment is undertaken by the Aged Care Standards and Accreditation Agency. Home and Community Care and Community (HACC), Aged Care Packages are assessed against the Community Care Common Standards. WDHS participates in other accreditation programs as determined by the Board and current legislation.

When was it?
From the 8th – 11th November 2022 WDHS underwent accreditation of Acute, Sub-Acute, PPH and HACC Services. Three surveyors and one trainee surveyor were present at WDHS for three days for the organisation wide survey. The HACC surveyor was also present for one day to complete a full day audit of our HACC Services. During this time WDHS provided evidence to satisfactorily meet all Standards. The organisation wide survey encompassed all campuses at Hamilton, Coleraine and Penshurst.

View the Standards »

Scroll to Top